INTERVIEW: “…MY DAD SINGS BETTER THAN MY MUM…” – BELLA.

bfFalodun Blessing Oluwamayowa aka Bella is a 400 level student of the department of Theatre Arts from a family of 5. She attended Oritamefa Baptist Nursery and Primary School, Total Garden, Ibadan and Livingstone College, Akobo, Ibadan. She was recently evicted from the on-going MTN Project Fame 9. She was the girl who was in dire need of Uites vote while she was in the competition.

 WHEN DID YOU DISCOVER YOU COULD SING?

I have been singing since I can remember. I can’t really place when exactly but I would say my early years.

WHEN DID YOU START YOUR MUSIC CAREER AT THE PROFESSIONAL LEVEL?

This year. About a month ago.

CAN YOU TELL US WHAT YOU HAVE DONE THIS YEAR TO KICK START YOUR MUSIC CAREER?

Nothing is out yet, but I am working on my single, which will be out soon.

HOW WERE YOU ABLE TO COMBINE MUSIC AND STUDIES? BECAUSE WE KNOW THEATRE ARTS DEMANDS TIME

I know right. Music is more like a second nature for me so there is really no combination. I just do it. I guess God’s grace helps me do that with ease.

WHO ENCOURAGED YOU TO VENTURE INTO MUSIC PROFESSIONALLY?

Myself, my family, my boyfriend, my friends, church members. Classmates, acquaintances, almost everyone I have ever met in my life.

WHAT GENRE OF MUSIC DO YOU DO?

Gospel, R n b, Contemporary but definitely not vulgar.

DO YOUR PARENT ENGAGE IN SINGING?

They both do o, nothing professional though. But really, my Dad sings better than my Mum.

IN THE WORLD OF MUSIC, WHO ARE YOUR ROLE MODELS?

Jennifer Hudson, Jessica Reedy, Asa, Alicia Keys, Mali Music, Kirk Franklin, Omawunmi, Timi Dakolo, Cobhams, 2 Baba, Dare Art Alade.

TELL US HOW PROJECT FAME HAPPENED FOR YOU?

I picked a form with the help of my friend, attended the audition, moved to the next round and then the next round. I got a call from Uncle Ben that I was shortlisted for Top 24 from all over West Africa. Then the real journey began.

SO HOW WAS THE JOURNEY?

The journey was awesome, I tell you. It was a whole new experience. I experienced VIP treatments. I had a real big exposure.

WHEN DID YOU LEAVE PROJECT FAME AND HOW DID YOU FEEL ABOUT LEAVING?

That was two weeks ago. I was really grateful to God, MTN and Ultima Studios for the opportunity that was given to me. I was also grateful to God for my ever supportive family, friends and fans all over.

WHY DID YOU DECIDE TO GO TO PROJECT FAME THIS YEAR AND NOT WAIT TILL YOU GRADUATE?

Because some opportunities come your way and you wanna just go for it.

SO, APART FROM PROJECT FAME, WHICH OTHER COMPETITION HAVE YOU PARTICIPATED IN?

Nigerian Idol, UIGMC, Deliver the Future. I won Deliver the Future in 200level.

WHAT WAS THE EXPERIENCE LIKE IN THE OTHER COMPETITION YOU PARTICIPATED IN BEFORE PROJECT FAME AND HOW HAS IT SHAPED YOUR PERSPECTIVE AS FAR AS MUSIC IS CONCERNED?

In summary, it is not always about the singing. One has to create a connection between the performer, the performance and the audience. That is basic theatre stuff anyway.

SO, WHEN SHOULD WE BE EXPECTING YOUR SINGLE?

It will be out before the end of the year.

ARE YOU IN A RELATIONSHIP?

Yes.

WHO IS THE LUCKY GUY?

Adewole Adeola. He is a UI Alumnus.

SHOULD WE BE EXPECTING WEDDING BELL RING SOON?

Let’s keep our fingers crossed anyway.

SHOUT OUTS?

Shout out to my family, my darling boo, my friends; Jide, Bukola, Daviconco, Ifeoma, Fiyin, my roommates, my fans and my fellow Thespians. Choboi!!! Hey!!!

Leave a Reply

