TOURCHEART: SOMETIMES LOVE JUST AIN’T ENOUGH

Love indeed is not blind but it takes someone who is blind to fall in love. Shade was trying to find comfort in sleeping while at the same time ruminating over her January break-up when this thought suddenly erupted her feigned tranquillity. She was trying to find answers to why that very New Year surprise came without signs. She had boasted to Oluwaseun that her boyfriend was never going to be ready to let a wonderful woman like her go when he asked the question, “who else is walking into 2016 as SINGLE.”

loveIt was more than a shock because she thought she had had enough for that day. There was no way she ever thought more was coming after having to deal with her parents’ looming separation from the same roof that 2nd January, 2016. As she headed home from her father’s house, the only comforts that she had banked on were the listening ears and reasonable words of her boyfriend. She never knew it was going to be a performance night which life never offered her an opportunity to rehearse for.

However, he had rehearsed his own lines. After all, she was the one who was foolish not to have read the signs. He had gone to the market, got all ingredients, prepared the nauseating meal and it took him little effort to serve her the shit. It was poisonous but she had no choice but to swallow. She was no novice at swallowing such.

Since, she has been trying to find answers to so many questions she could not ask anyone. “Why did he have to let me go?” He said, “You understand and care, a woman like you is rare to find, yet he let go of me. Love is indeed mad.” She said in the tears of her own sorrow.

Relationship is more about decision and commitment. Let us admit it that sometimes love is not enough to keep a relationship on the track. Anyone who is yet to realise this needs to be re-awakened! Ebunoluwa loves her , that is one thing she is still sure about though people think she is perfectly insane to still believe that after he left her shattered.

What then was responsible for the failure of this relationship? It’s simple; Ebun could not cope with some things about her. However, he never mentioned those things. Imagine, she was the kind of woman he wanted yet there were things he could not cope with.

Shade tried to no avail to make Ebun reveal the things he cannot cope with about her perhaps she can work on it even if she has no place in his heart again. “I cannot  tell you because someone else may love you for it and I do not want you to change yourself because of me.”  Ebun had said.

It took the effort of Raphael, a close friend of both parties to discover what suddenly tore these love birds apart.

According to Ebun, Shade’s presence is choking and she does not understand when a man wants to be alone. “She just won’t let me be. She is always around me when we are together. “He had told Raphael. “I love her, she knows too but I need her to understand that love must respect the space of others.”

“You cannot imagine that she doubts my love for her because all I did after mass on Sunday was to concentrate on my phone. She did not even ask what kept me busy with my phone before concluding that all I cared about were those I chat with.” He blurted.

“If we are ever going to be together, she must respect my space and accept my individuality.” He said. “Anything against that, I am afraid we have to split because the fact that we love each other is not enough for me.”

Leave a Reply

