​*** AT HOME***

I have a mother I am proud of. She has given her best I must say. What more can I ask for. But I have disappointed her. Perhaps, I should not have thought of studying. My mates are married…

I started work the following day as a teacher in order to earn money for the holiday. Hardly had I started that I started feeling weak unnecessarily. I thought it was normal and paid no attention to that until I started feeling heavy in my body.
       **HERITAGE HOSPITAL ***

“You are pregnant, Miss. We hope you will come and register for your pre-natal soon” the Doctor said while I look at him dejectedly.

“How can I be pregnant? It was just once. The thought struggled for answer within me.

I rushed home quickly to pick my things and headed for school. Joe was yet to return to his hostel. His friends have not heard from him as well and none of them know his house.

My world is about to fall like the ancient Roman Empire. Mummy has been calling but I do not know what to tell her. 

I stayed back in school having no one to turn to. The company was a hope that Joe would call me one day. 

A week had gone by and Joe did not call. The holiday was almost ending and I don’t know what to do still.

I was on my way to my academic mentor office when an international number called me. It was Joe. He said he had been transferred to a school abroad by his father and he just called to cancel our relationship. I was dumbfounded as he gave me no room to tell him I was pregnant for him.

       *** ***

I lost consciousness after a car hit me while crossing the road according to a passerby who brought me to a nearby hospital. I was just weeping profusely as the doctor tried to check my temperature. He said, “Miss, you have to rest a lot. The test we conducted on you showed that your body is reacting against toxics in your body. Perhaps, you consumed something you are allergic to. Meanwhile, the drugs we have given you will help deal with it but you need to rest.”

“I hope nothing has happened to my baby” I asked. “What baby?” The doctor asked with registered surprise.

“I am pregnant” I said. “I’m sorry the test revealed no such thing. But to clear all doubt, we will conduct another” he said.

The period of waiting was the worst period of my life. My eyes did not stop penetrating the door waiting for doctor. He came in an hour later and said that I was not pregnant.

I asked to be discharged immediately and hurried to my hostel not knowing if I were to be happy or sad. But I planned to re-conduct another test as soon as possible at another hospital.

   

 *** STERLING FEMALE HOSTEL ***

The news that my hostel mates had in waiting for me left me wishing I had been killed by the car that hit me. Our results have been released and I didn’t meet the required CGPA of my department which means I have to withdraw except if the Senate decides otherwise. Perhaps, grant me another session to improve.

I prayed for the later. Another chance is all I needed having realized my own mistakes. I should have made a better decision. Aristotle has said that, Happiness depends on us. I should not have sought comfort in the arms of another man. A man like me; how stupid of me. I cursed.

“What else can I live for if the Senate acts against me?” I asked as I entered my room cockily and closed the door against pitying voices.

I REMEMBER JUST ONE THING; I DO NOT WANT TO DISAPPOINT MOTHER. WHEN WOULD SHE KNOW? WHAT FIT OF COURAGE DO I STILL HAVE TO TELL HER ABOUT WHAT MAY HAPPEN?

    THE END.

