“You can turn the negative to positive, don’t ever give up on your dream” – Okunade Aderoju

AFASites, it’s about time you met Okunade Aderoju Daniel if you haven’t. 

He is a 400 level student in the Department of Communication and Language Arts, University of Ibadan. He is a native of Ile- Ife in Osun State. Rising star team had a fantastic time with him where he told us about his passion and what drives him to pursue his dreams.

 Aderoju is funny, hardworking and one thing that is most intriguing about him is that he never gives up until he achieves whatever task that he set out to do. Read excerpts from AFAS PRESS interview with this charming entrepreneur:

Tell us a little about your background?

I am Okunade Aderoju Daniel. The CEO of Chronik Concept. I was born into the family of Mr. and Mrs. Okunade Adebowale. I lost my dad about 15 years ago, and I am the second of three children. I was born and bred in Egbeda, Federal Housing Estate, Lagos state.

We would like to know about your educational background

I attended St. Michaels nursery and primary school and St. Michaels model college Gowon Estate, Egbeda. I had my National diploma in Mass Communication from the Polytechnic of Ibadan and I’m currently in my final year in the University of Ibadan, studying Communication and Language arts.

So apart from school, what else do you do?

I work. I’m into branding, general printing services, awards, promotional and executive gift items. 

When did this whole thing start?

I’ve been in business for a while now, since 2008. Although, I worked for a couple of companies that are into branding and printing services. Companies like Kindlell limited, Logomarks resources and Zuns graphics. That was how I gathered experience to start something on my own, but officially my company, Chronik Concept started four years ago.

So what inspired you to go into this line of business? 

Well, I lost my dad at a very tender age, so I had to think of how to make money on my own because I like to be independent and I do not like begging so, I made use of all the opportunities that came my way while I was working with the companies I mentioned earlier. The interest began to grow and it gradually grew into passion and here I am today.

How has the business been so far? Can you tell us about the works you have done and who you have worked with?

The business has been great so far and our client base increases by the day. We’ve worked with a lot of great brands like Etisalat, Shell, NNPC, Scoop Concepts, Access Bank, KMP, Tetramanor ltd, Television Continental, in fact, the list cannot be exhausted.

One of Aderoju’s work for LIS

Do you have an office space, staff that work for you or you work from home?
Yes, my office is in Lagos. No. 4, Unity road off Toyin street. For now, we have about six staff. 

With the economic recession in the country, how have you been able to keep your head up in business. Has it had effect or cause any setback?

The economy recession has affected all businesses in general, especially in a country where all our raw materials are imported but we are still surviving and so far we thank god.

Are you in a relationship?

Smiles…I will prefer to keep that personal for now.

Do you plan to settle to expand your business and do it full time or you have another passion or career you want to pursue after school?

That’s the goal, to expand. Already, it is a full time thing for me. I do not have any other major thing in mind for now aside Chronik Concept.

What is your philosophy of life?

Hmm, life would always throw things you don’t want at you but you can turn the negatives into positives. The most important thing is not to ever give up on your dream.

Thank you Mr. Aderoju for the time.

